Department of Physical Education

About the Department
The department was founded in 1968; the same year the college was founded and has a 53-year track record. Prof. K.T. Abdurahman, a former Joint Secretary of the Volleyball Federation of India and a former University footballer was appointed Head of the Department of Physical Education on September 1, 1969, and immediately began operating as such. Dr.A.A. Latheef, former faculty member and then Principal, W.M.O College, Muttil, Waynad District, Dr A Saifudheen, former Head, Department of Physical Education, and Sri. Shukoor Illath, former faculty member and current Head of the Department, Thunjan Government College, Tirur, are among the other former faculty members who have made significant contributions to the development of sports and games in this institution. This institution was promoted to a first-year college in 1972 and a post-graduate college in 1980 after four years. We built a conventional Lawn Tennis court in 1975. The institution has held a number of state and district level tennis soft tennis and powerlifting ampionships over time.